The Institute for Research in Biomedicine was founded in 2000 with the clear and ambitious goal of advancing the study of human immunology, with particular emphasis on the mechanisms of host defense.
- The Palazzo Fabrizia was built in 1965 by architects Luigi Snozzi and Livio Vacchini. In 2000 the building was converted to house IRB 1300 m2 lab space, cell sorting and imaging facilities and conference space.
- The IRBis was completed in 2007 by converting an existing building nearby, and houses 500 m2 lab space as well as Biosafety Level 3 facilities.
- The IRB has commissioned a feasability study to explore the possibility of building a single site facility to house the IRB and the Institute of Oncology Research (IOR).